Bob Dylan to Release “Shadows In The Night”

Bob Dylan to Release “Shadows In The Night”

Columbia Records recently announced the releasing of Bob Dylan’s new studio album called Shadows In The Night. The album produced by Jack Frost, will be released on February 3, 2015. Shadows In The Night represents the 36th studio set by Bob Dylan and it is his first new music since the 2012’s worldwide hit “Tempest”.

The album consists ten tracks comprised entirely of Frank Sinatra covers, including “Full Moon And Empty Arms”, which confirmed the sparkling rumors about the releasing of the album when Dylan started to steaming it.

In a press release, he explained his approaching to the recording process:

“It was a real privilege to make this album. I’ve wanted to do something like this for a long time but was never brave enough to approach 30-piece complicated arrangements and refine them down for a 5-piece band. That’s the key to all these performances. We knew these songs extremely well. It was all done live. Maybe one or two takes. No overdubbing. No vocal booths. No headphones. No separate tracking, and, for the most part, mixed as it was recorded. I don‘t see myself as covering these songs in any wat. They‘ve been covered enough. Buried, as a matter a fact. What me and my band are basically doing is uncovering them. Lifting them out of the grave and bringing them into the light of day.”

Columbia Records Chairman Rob Stringer explained that Bob Dylan managed to find a way to introduce these songs with new life and modern significance , through old-school recording techniques.

Bob Dylan’s five previous studio albums have been considered as among the best of his career, reaching new levels of commercial success. His 1997’s album, Time Out Of Mind went platinum and earned multiple Grammy Awards.

Modern Times, which was released in 2006, became one of Dylan’s most popular albums and Together Through Life was his first album that reached No. 1 both in the US and UK.

In recent years, he was receiver of the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the US highest civilian honour and in 2008 Dylan earned a special Pulitzer Prize for “his profound impact on popular music and American culture, marked by lyrical compositions of extraordinary poetic power.”

Shadows In The Night Track Listing:

  1. I’m A Fool To Want You
  2. The Night We Called It A Day
  3. Stay With Me
  4. Autumn Leaves
  5. Why Try to Change Me Now
  6. Some Enchanted Evening
  7. Full Moon And Empty Arms
  8. Where Are You?
  9. What’ll I Do
  10. That Lucky Old Sun


December 15th, 2014

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *